h1

How to completely ruin a beautiful car

September 1, 2008

No, I’m not going to tell you how to beat the ever loving crap out of a classic car.  I figure that most people here could do it themselves without much instruction.  When I talk about ruining a beautiful car, I’m talking about bolting an ugly ass license plate to the front of it.

I have a black 2004 Acura TL.  It’s awesome and I love my baby.  I also live in Maryland.  If you have ever seen the Maryland license plate, you know that it is one of the most cheap-shit, phone-it-in design jobs ever forced onto a license plate.  Whatever simpleton won the design contest to create the look of the Maryland plate should be beaten with a boxed version of Photoshop until the edges of the box are heavily blunted.

Seriously, it’s fucking obnoxious just how plain it is.  Now, you can imagine my consternation at having to bolt this ugly beast onto my car.  My bumper has a nice sporty edge to it, and it has to be ruined because I have to mount this plate to a special black mounting rectangle.

Now, all this talking about my license plate got me thinking.  What do other state plates look like?  I know what Oregon and Washington plates look like because I’m originally from Oregon and I saw both states’ plates every day.  I know what Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Washington, D.C. plates look like because, again, I’m in Maryland and I see those plates every day.  But what about other states?  Chances are, I’ve seen every state plate made in the past 10 years.  Being located around military bases exposes you to that sort of variety.

But what about you people?  How many of you have seen Hawai’i plates?  Alaska?  Rhode Island?  So I started searching around for various license plates from different states.  You’d be amazed at how many plates there are for each state.  Hell, Alabama alone offers so many different style license plates, it took me 20 minutes to view them all.  From the standard “Stars Fell On Alabama” plates, to the various special interest and university plates, it’s a cluster fuck.

Luckily, I happened upon a great site that collects license plates from all over the world, not just the U.S.  And not only does this site collect world license plates, but they have pictures of historical plates as well.  For instance, have you ever wondered what the 1911 Oregon plates looked like?  Well, have you?!  I know there have been nights where I’ve woken up in a cold sweat because I didn’t know!  Now, I can sleep tight, thanks to worldlicenseplates.com.

I’m going to provide direct links to the 50 state plate pages as well as Washington, D.C., but keep in mind that this only represents a small portion of what’s available at the site.  Check out their other country plates as well.  These people obviously went to alot of trouble to collect all this data.  The least you can do is take a look around!

One of the more interesting things I noticed while going through the state plates was that some states didn’t issue metal license plates for a few years in World War II.  Oregon issued stickers from 1943-1945.  Alaska issued fiberboard plates.  Interesting history there.

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawai’i

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Leave a Reply

