h1

Windows XP SP3 updates won’t install

July 10, 2008

I have a machine at work on which I recently installed our corporate edition of XP so that I can test Service Pack 3 for general deployment.  I set up a typical virtual machine in our Parallels testing machine and installed a fresh copy of XP corporate with SP2 slipstreamed in.  Everything went fine during the install.  However, after upgrading to SP3, I was unable to install any Windows Updates any more.  They all failed.  It didn’t matter if I tried to install through the web interface for Windows Update or through Automatic Updates.

I did some searching on Google and found an answer to my problem in the Microsoft Knowledge Base.  This may not work for all people, but it worked for me and I am now able to install updates again.  Here are the steps I found:

1.  Open a command prompt.

2.  Type in “net stop wuauserv”

3.  After the Automatic Updates service stops, type in “regsvr32 %windir%\system32\wups32.dll”

4.  You should receive a message stating that the dll was successfully registered.

5.  Restart the Automatic Updates service by typing in:  “net start wuauserv”

After following the above steps, everything worked fine.  If you’re having the same problem as I did after upgrading to SP3, try this tip.

Leave a Reply

