h1

Upgrade Mac Mini memory beyond 2GB!

April 18, 2008

I currently own an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz Mac Mini.  Apple officially lists the Mac Mini as having a maximum memory configuration of 2GB (2x1GB modules).  However, after reading about unofficial support for 3GB of memory (1x1GB and 1x2GB modules) on everymac.com, I figured I’d give it a shot.  So I ordered the 3GB memory kit.  I put it in my Mac Mini as soon as it arrived and sure enough, the thing booted up and saw all 3GB of memory!  Very cool, says I.  Now, I also had another 2GB laptop memory module in addition to the one that I had ordered.  So, I thought, if it supports 3GB, maybe it’ll support 4GB!  So I popped the second 2GB module into the Mac Mini and sure enough, the thing booted and reported 4GB of memory! 

Now, I don’t know if only certain models of Mac Mini can support the full 4GB, or if they all do and Apple is just future-proofing it’s Mini by under-reporting the true capabilities, but 4GB of memory in the Mini makes it a pretty serious desktop machine.  People who complain about the lack of memory for graphic art programs might want to take another look.  With the Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz chip and 4GB of memory and near-silent running, the Mini is a serious contender for the desktop.

Unfortunately, I’m moving and I’ve decided to sell my Mac Mini with the 4GB of memory.  It’s currently on eBay (auction number 320240383783).  If you’re interested, you’ve got a little under 5 days left on the auction.  I’m also including my 2GB iPod Shuffle and the cool Apple aluminum keyboard.

Leave a Reply

